MBBS Abroad Winter Intake 2027: Which Countries & Universities Can You Choose?

MBBS abroad winter intake 2027 illustration with Indian students in winter clothing and a snowy campus, representing Russia and Kazakhstan

In this article

KEEP EXPLORING

Explore More from Our Journal

Fresh perspectives and practical guides for your MBBS journey.

Read More Blogs

If you missed the main admission cycle, MBBS abroad winter intake 2027 gives you another admission period to explore. Start with the country choices, then compare the universities within each country to find a programme that suits your academic background, budget and preferred joining time.

For students enquiring with Global Pathshala, the winter-intake shortlist covered in this guide has two country options: Russia and Kazakhstan. Within these countries, you can explore four universities: Kursk State Medical University, Pitirim Sorokin Syktyvkar State University, Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University and Al-Farabi Kazakh National University.

Availability note — 24 October 2026: These are options to enquire about, not a guarantee of open seats. We have not independently confirmed a new winter 2027 medical batch at every listed university. Request current programme-specific availability, teaching dates and admission terms before paying. This guide is not an exhaustive worldwide intake list.

Which country options can you explore for winter intake 2027?

Your first decision is between the two destinations in this shortlist. After choosing a country, compare its university options rather than assuming that every institution has the same admission calendar, course structure or fee package.

Country option Universities to explore Your next step
Russia Kursk State Medical University; Pitirim Sorokin Syktyvkar State University Compare the medical programme, winter batch availability, cost and joining arrangements
Kazakhstan Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University; Al-Farabi Kazakh National University Compare programme-specific intake availability, admission assessments, language and total cost

Winter intake refers here to new medical-course admission, not a separate clinical internship placement. “January intake”, “February intake” and “spring intake” may appear in enquiries, but the university must confirm the actual first teaching day.

Option 1: MBBS abroad winter intake 2027 in Russia

If Russia is your preferred destination, the two university options in this guide are Kursk and Pitirim Sorokin Syktyvkar. Begin by comparing the actual admission offer for each institution: programme title, teaching language, academic calendar, complete fees and accommodation.

Kursk State Medical University

Full university name: Kursk State Medical University. This is the Kursk option on your Russia shortlist. Ask for the current first-year medical programme offer and confirm whether the proposed joining period belongs to a new winter batch.

See our Kursk State Medical University profile.

Before choosing Kursk, request the application deadline, assessment requirements, teaching start and latest permitted arrival. Review the teaching location, current official travel guidance and arrival arrangements alongside the academic and financial details. If a deadline changes, ask how this affects your place and payments.

Pitirim Sorokin Syktyvkar State University

Full university name: Pitirim Sorokin Syktyvkar State University. You may also see it shortened to Syktyvkar State University. Use the full name when checking an offer or comparing it with another institution.

See our Pitirim Sorokin Syktyvkar State University profile.

This is the second option to explore within Russia. Confirm whether the proposed winter admission is direct entry into the medical degree or entry into preparatory study. Ask for the curriculum, language used in teaching and clinical settings, accommodation details and full fee schedule.

How to choose between the two: compare written offers for the same joining period. Prioritise a suitable verified programme and workable arrival timeline, then compare the full cost and support arrangements. Explore our MBBS in Russia guide for destination information.

Option 2: MBBS abroad winter intake 2027 in Kazakhstan

If you prefer Kazakhstan, the two universities in this shortlist are Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University and Al-Farabi Kazakh National University. They are separate institutions; the similar names should not be treated as interchangeable.

Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University

Full university name: Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University, also referred to as Kazakh National Medical University named after S.D. Asfendiyarov or KazNMU.

For this option, request the current admission information for your intended medical programme and teaching language. The university’s official foreign-applicant page links a 2026–27 procedure for Kazakh- or Russian-medium study; that notice alone does not confirm an English-medium winter medical batch.

Compare the applicable entrance assessment, course structure, tuition, hostel arrangements and joining dates before deciding whether this university matches your plans.

Al-Farabi Kazakh National University

Full university name: Al-Farabi Kazakh National University. The university is also known as KazNU. “Al-Farabi State Medical University” is not the institutional name to use on your shortlist.

Al-Farabi’s official foreign-admission rules list a general spring application window of 16 October to 5 December. Ask whether this window applies to a new 2027 batch of your intended medical programme, and obtain the actual class-start date.

The admission page also specifies English-proficiency certification for interviews in English-taught healthcare programmes. Confirm which current requirements apply to you rather than assuming every Kazakhstan option follows the same process.

How to choose between the two: compare the specific programme, intake confirmation, teaching language, entrance requirements and complete budget. Our MBBS in Kazakhstan guide can help with the wider destination comparison.

How should you choose your country and university?

Use the same comparison sheet for all four options. This makes differences easier to see and prevents a low headline fee or an early proposed joining date from becoming your only deciding factor.

Compare What to obtain for each option
Intake and timing New-batch confirmation, first teaching day and latest arrival
Programme Degree title, teaching language, curriculum and clinical-training arrangements
Eligibility Academic requirements, relevant NEET rules, entrance assessment and language evidence
Complete cost Tuition, hostel, meals, insurance, travel and other required charges
Admission terms Payment schedule, verified recipient, refund terms and delay arrangements

If you intend to practise in India, check the applicable foreign medical graduate requirements separately from the university’s admission requirements. Our NMC checklist for Indian students helps you organise questions about course structure, internship and the registration pathway.

What documents should you prepare?

Start with your passport, Class 10 and 12 records, NEET result and the documents requested by your chosen university. Check names and dates for consistency. Obtain the current requirements for translations, authentication, medical records and the visa process before arranging those services.

Use our MBBS abroad documents checklist to organise your application file. An initial enquiry may need fewer documents than final enrolment, so follow the checklist for the correct stage.

University fee comparison: tuition, hostel and living costs

The figures below are taken from fee sheets supplied to Global Pathshala and reviewed on 24 October 2026. They are reference figures, not independently verified university invoices or confirmed Winter 2027 quotations. The Kazakhstan sheets specify September 2026–27; the Russia sheets are labelled 2026–27. Confirm their applicability to your intended batch before paying.

Kursk State Medical University: fee reference

Fee item Amount listed Period / detail
Tuition USD 6,000 Each year, years 1–6
Hostel USD 200 Each year, years 1–6
Medical insurance, visa extension and other items USD 80 combined Each year; individual amounts not separated in the sheet
Food Not specified Obtain a separate estimate

Pitirim Sorokin Syktyvkar State University: fee reference

Fee item First year Years 2–6, per year
Tuition RUB 300,000 RUB 300,000
Hostel RUB 60,000 RUB 30,000
Visa extension, health insurance and medical checkup RUB 35,000 combined As per actual cost; not included in a fixed later-year figure
Food Not specified Not specified

The Russia sheets warn that tuition may rise by 4–5%. Treat this as a statement in the supplied sheets, not a guaranteed future increase or a fixed fee commitment.

Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University: fee reference

Fee item Amount listed Period / detail
Tuition KZT 3,000,000 annually Years 1–5; first-year sheet also shows approximately USD 5,800
Sixth-year internship KZT 3,000,000 Sixth year as listed
Hostel USD 1,000 Listed in the first-year schedule; later-year amount not separately specified
Medical insurance USD 100 Labelled annual; listed in the first-year schedule
Food USD 1,300 annually Separately listed
Visa extension Not separately specified Confirm the applicable amount

Reference sheet: September 2026–27, updated 18 February 2026. It states that hostel and mess are compulsory in the first year.

Al-Farabi Kazakh National University: fee reference

Fee item Amount listed Period / detail
Tuition KZT 2,600,000 annually Years 1–5; first-year sheet also shows approximately USD 5,400
Sixth-year internship KZT 2,600,000 Sixth year as listed
Hostel USD 1,000 Listed in the first-year schedule; later-year amount not separately specified
Medical insurance USD 100 Labelled annual; listed in the first-year schedule
Food USD 1,300 annually Separately listed
Visa extension Not separately specified Confirm the applicable amount

Reference sheet: September 2026–27, updated 5 June 2026. It states that hostel and mess are compulsory in the first year.

Currency and comparison: KZT means Kazakhstani tenge and RUB means Russian rubles. Retain the listed currencies when comparing offers. USD equivalents in the Kazakhstan sheets are reference figures, not a current conversion guarantee. These tables list selected fee items and are not all-inclusive package totals. Request the current invoice, payment schedule and refund terms for your chosen intake.

What budget should you compare?

Request fresh written quotations for the 2027 joining period. Record the billing currency, payment dates, inclusions and exclusions. Compare tuition, hostel, meals, insurance, documentation, visa-related costs, flights, local transport and winter clothing.

Read the payment schedule and refund conditions carefully. Our guide to expenses beyond MBBS tuition fees explains the budget categories to include; use current quotations for the actual amounts.

Official admission updates and enquiry routes

Checked on 24 October 2026. Al-Farabi’s official foreign-applicant page lists a general spring application window of 16 October–5 December and the email international@kaznu.kz. Confirm whether your intended medical programme has a new 2027 cohort and obtain its teaching start date.

For KazNMU, use the official foreign-applicant page or selection committee at +7 (727) 338-70-27. The English-medium Medicine/Dentistry admission document located during this review is for 2025–26, so it is not evidence of Winter 2027 availability.

Programme-specific Winter 2027 notices and directly verified current admission contacts for Kursk and Syktyvkar remain pending. The Russian official websites could not be retrieved during this review. General application or preparatory-course dates should not be used as confirmation of a new medical batch.

How to move from shortlist to application

  1. Choose your country preferences: Russia, Kazakhstan or a comparison of both.
  2. Select the universities you want to enquire about: identify the full institutional name and intended medical programme.
  3. Get current availability: request the batch, teaching language, start date and admission deadline in writing.
  4. Compare your offers: review eligibility, course details, costs and terms using the same checklist.
  5. Apply through the specified channel: retain your application reference and official correspondence.
  6. Complete admission and travel stages: follow the relevant visa, accommodation and arrival instructions.

Frequently asked questions

Which countries are included in this winter intake 2027 guide?

Russia and Kazakhstan are the two country choices in this shortlist. It is not a claim that no other country or institution offers a winter or spring admission route.

Which universities can I explore in Russia?

The two options covered here are Kursk State Medical University and Pitirim Sorokin Syktyvkar State University. Confirm the intended medical batch’s current availability before applying.

Which universities can I explore in Kazakhstan?

The two options are Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University and Al-Farabi Kazakh National University. Obtain programme-specific admission information for each.

Is winter intake the same as an internship?

No. This article concerns starting a medical degree through a winter admission cycle. Clinical internship is a separate component of medical training and must be checked within the chosen programme.

Can I choose a university only on the basis of fees?

Compare fees alongside programme suitability, eligibility, intake confirmation, clinical training and your intended professional-registration pathway. Use the total budget rather than tuition alone.

Find the winter intake option that fits your plans

Start with the country, shortlist the universities within it and compare the written details before choosing. Contact Global Pathshala to discuss these Russia and Kazakhstan options with your academic background, budget and preferred joining period.

Sources and review date

Reviewed on 24 October 2026. Availability and requirements can change. The featured illustration is representative and does not depict a verified university campus.